Baked Ratatouille with Sausage

Ever since seeing the movie Ratatouille, I’ve wanted to try making the dish the way he did, instead of the traditional stovetop stew. The recipe I came up with is based on Mollie Katzen’s ratatouille from The Moosewood Cookbook, but with tweaks based on Smitten Kitchen’s baked version. And I must say, I think it was a success! In fact, it was a bit too much of a success – I forgot to take a picture before most of it was gone!

But I must admit to the few tweaks that make it a bit less authentic: 1) I didn’t use eggplant because, well, I don’t really like it. 2) I wanted some protein in the dish, so I added sausage. Not that much is needed, and I think the flavors blend really well, so I was a fan.

P1050661Ingredients:

1 8-oz can plain tomato sauce or puree
1/2 onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp rosemary
1/4 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1 medium/large zucchini, thinly sliced
2 medium/large summer squash, thinly sliced
              (OR 1 summer squash and 1 small eggplant)
3 firm roma tomatoes, thinly sliced
1 turkey sausage, sliced and browned on both sides
1/2 red bell pepper, julienned and halved
a handful of Spanish olives

Instructions:

1) Slice and brown the sausage over the stove.

2) Mix together tomato sauce, onions and garlic, olive oil, and spices, and spread evenly on the bottom of a ~10″ round casserole dish.

3) Arrange vegetables and sausage and in a circle, overlapping so that only a bit of each round is visible. Sausage should be toward the outer edge of the layers, where there more space between vegetables. Arrange layers in the center as they fit (I did one line, with halves on the side). Fill any small gaps with more sausage. Spread red pepper over the top, and sprinkle olives across. Drizzle 1-2 tbsp of olive oil over the top.

4) Cut a peice of parchment paper so that it fits over the top of the dish, coming to the edges of the pan.

5) Bake for 35-40 minutes, until veggies are tender but not limp.

6) Serve immediately over rice, potatoes, cous cous, etc. (I served it over Trader Joe’s Harvest Grain Blend, and loved it!)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

