Pumpkin Pancakes

This weekend my roommates and I had some friends over to visit. The original plan was to go out for brunch, but when we looked out the window we all discovered that we were pretty happy staying inside in the warmth. We’re in the middle of a brief thaw in Chicago, but in my opinion a damp chill is just as bad as (if not worse than) a dry cold. (Add this to the list of reasons why I want to move to Colorado.)

So, I suddenly had to whip something up for brunch. The problem was, I had pretty much nothing in the fridge. I still haven’t gone shopping since the last time I posted a recipe that I whipped up with limited groceries. (This seems to be a pretty typical problem for me.)

I’ve been on a bit of a pumpkin kick lately, so somehow the idea of making pancakes popped into my head. and the nice thing about pancakes: they have minimal requirements in the fresh-food department. So after a bit of googling, I went with a recipe from My Baking Addiction, with a few tweaks based on my family pancake recipe. (Click the photo for the original recipe.)

PumpkinPancakesFischer2Ingredients

1 cup milk
1 cup plain yogurt
1 1/3 cups pumpkin puree
1 large egg
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped pecans

Instructions

1. In a large bowl, whisk together egg, milk, yogurt, pumpkin, oil, and vanilla.

2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. Stir dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just combined. Fold in pecans.

3. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or nonstick frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/3 cup for each pancake. Cook until surface of pancakes have some bubbles and a few have burst, about 1 to 2 minutes. Using a thin spatula, carefully flip each pancake and cook until browned on the underside, about 2 minutes more. Transfer cooked pancakes to a baking sheet and keep warm in oven. Continue with more oil and remaining batter.

4. Serve with toppings as desired.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pancakes

Leave a Reply

