Cilantro-Lime Lentil Salad

This recipe was an instant favorite when I first made it. It is (again) based off a recipe from The Kinfolk Table Cookbook (I did get it for Christmas!), Citrus Lentil Salad.

kinfolksalad_2714409b

Though I’m sure the original recipe is awesome, to be honest I doubt that I’m ever going to try it. Because I LOVED my version. (And other people evidently did too – the bowl was wiped clean at the a church potluck, and I got a lot of compliments!)

My recipe is the same as the original in essence, and really only has 3 differences:
– I used limes instead of lemons or oranges (because that’s what I had in the fridge!)
– I used shallots instead of scallions (ditto the above.)
– I added cilantro (because (a) I LOVE CILANTRO and (b) cilantro and lime ALWAYS taste good together.)

And though I’m clearly hugely plugging for my version, here is the even better reality of this recipe: It is SUPER tweakable. Go ahead, make it your own! If I ever get over this version, my next plan is to try it with orange juice/zest, fresh parsley, and dried cranberries.

And the best of it is, though this is a meatless salad it is still a good source of protein! This baby is just as valid a main dish as it is a side. So, here goes:

Cilantro-Lime Lentil Salad

Ingredients

1 cup green lentils, picked over
2 shallots, thinly diced
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon white wine or apple cider vinegar
Zest of 1 lime
Juice of 1 lime (about 3T)
1 tablespoon sugar
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 bunch cilantro

Instructions

  1. Rinse the lentils under cold running water in a fine-mesh sieve until the water runs clear. Place the lentils in a medium saucepan and add enough cold water to cover by 3 inches. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the lentils are tender.
  2. While the lentils are cooking: zest and then juice the lime, and put both in a large mixing bowl. Chop the shallots and put them in the bowl as well, and then add the olive oil, vinegar, sugar, salt, and pepper. Stir it together – the oil will help stop the shallots from releasing the gases that make your eyes sting.
  3. When they are done, drain the lentils and rinse in cold water, and drain again well. Nobody likes a soggy salad.
  4. Place lentils in the large bowl and toss with the rest of the ingredients.
  5. Allow salad to rest refrigerated for at least 20 minutes to let the flavors combine. Right before serving, chop the cilantro and mix into the salad. Serve.
2 thoughts on “Cilantro-Lime Lentil Salad

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pancakes | erin thinks (a lot)

  2. Pingback: Quinoa and Bean Summer Salad | erin thinks (a lot)

Leave a Reply

