You know you’re from Chicago when… (part 1)

So I’m moving back to Chicago after four years of cross-cultural college experiences in The Suburbs. I couldn’t be more ready to be back in the city, and I’m bringing some people along – a couple of my college friends and I are moving to an apartment on the West Side. It has never been more apparent to me just how much of a city girl I am, and I just had to share the laughs.

.        .        .

A conversation via text message about parking at our apartment, with roommate “Shelly,” from Kentucky.

S: “Hey, on a side note, do you know parking?”
E: “Huh?”
S: “Parking at the apartment…like how it works. Lizzy asked me, and I realized we both need to know.”
E: “This is the city. Street parking. As in, you park on the street.”
S: “Ok. So do we pay the landlord? Or we just park? Haha. Because I think Lizzy has to pay at her current apartment.”
E: “Just park. No paying. The landlord doesn’t own the street.”
S: “Cool.”

.        .        .

I’m labeling this post “part 1” because I am nearly 100% confident that there will be more posts of its kind. So stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “You know you’re from Chicago when… (part 1)

  1. Pingback: You know you’re from Chicago when… (part 2) | erin thinks (a lot)

Leave a Reply

